Speaker Declares NPP ‘Majority Group’ In Parliament

Speaker Declares NPP ‘Majority Group’ In Parliament

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin on Friday, 15 January, 2020 declared the New Patriotic Party (NPP) caucus as the Majority in Parliament.

The Speaker made the declaration, following a letter he received from the Independent Member of Parliament (MP) for Fomena, Mr Andrew Asiamah Amoako.

The Fomena MP indicated in his letter to the Speaker, which was read out to the house, that he would do business with the NPP.

Addressing members of the house, the speaker noted that the outcome of the December polls in which the people denied both parties a single party control of the legislative branch is a call to chart a new path in the conduct of the business of Parliament.

The Speaker said: “The people of Ghana sent a loud and clear message to the political class when they voted to deny both the New Patriotic Party NPP for short and the National Democratic Congress, NDC single party control of the legislative branch.

“The score of 137 for NPP and 137 for NDC with 1 independent, the decision of no majority party and no minority party in parliament, is a call for us to chart a new path to embark on new ways of transacting Parliamentary business.”

Mr Bagbin however urged both sides of the house to work on any challenges that might prevent the smooth running of business during proceedings.

“I urge the leadership of both sides of the house to put their heads together to smoothen out any bottlenecks or challenges that may impede the conduct of business in the house. I am ever ready to assist in this direction.”

The Speaker also stated that with the official declaration by the Fomena MP “to the House, the House will accord him the space to do as he has stated. Whatever he said outside was of no effect so far as the business of the house is concerned, therefore he had to do it officially for it to be read and captured in hansard.”

“You have the New Patriotic Party Wing or caucus in parliament together with the independent Member from Fomena and they now constitute the majority group.”